Somerset TalentEd Academy Resources

Here you will find a full range of additional resources to accompany the Somerset TalentEd Academy Industry Insights 2021. 

Click on the the titles below to view the resources:

HAIR AND BEAUTY
SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
FOOD PRODUCTION
ENTERPRISE AND RETAIL
EARLY YEARS
CREATIVE
CONSTRUCTION
CATERING, HOSPITALITY AND TOURISM
DIGITAL
ENVIRONMENT, PLANTS AND ANIMALS
ENGINEERING AND MANUFACTURING
HEALTH AND WELLBEING
COURSE INFORMATION

You can also find additional videos and information from participating businesses and organisations who participated in the TalentEd Academy Industry broadcasts with Learn Live UK last year. Click here to view >

 

HAIR AND BEAUTY

Organisation Website
Hair and Beauty Academy South West www.hairacademysouthwest.co.uk
The Sangha House www.thesanghahouse.co.uk

Yeovil College - Hair and Media Make Up Course Details

www.yeovil.ac.uk
The Hair Council haircouncil.org.uk
National Hair and Beauty Federation www.nhbf.co.uk
The British Beauty Council britishbeautycouncil.com
National Association of Screen Make Up and Hair www.nasmah.co.uk
British Barbers Association britishbarbers.com

 

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Organisation Website
The Institute of Quarrying www.quarrying.org
Wainwright www.wainwright.co.uk

Quarrying and Mineral Products Industry Resources for National Careers Week

www.quarrying.org/NCW-2022

Thales

www.thalesgroup.com

UK Hydrographic Office

www.gov.uk/uk-hydrographic-office
MK Test Systems mktest.com
Geological Society www.geolsoc.org.uk
Royal Geographical Society www.rgs.org
Society of Biology www.rsb.org.uk
Institute of Physics www.iop.org
Royal Meterorological Society www.rmets.org
Institute of Engineering and Technology www.theiet.org

 

FOOD PRODUCTION

Organisation Website
Somerset Larder somersetlarder.co.uk
Thatchers Cider www.thatcherscider.co.uk
Branston www.branston.com

Tasty Careers

tastycareers.org.uk

Institute of Hospitality

www.instituteofhospitality.org
National Careers Service Hospitality and food careers
Food Science www.prospects.ac.uk
Food and Drink Federation www.fdf.org.uk
Youth Employment UK Food Industry Careers

 

ENTERPRISE & RETAIL

Organisation Website
The Onion Collective www.onioncollective.co.uk
Manor from Heaven www.manorfromheaven.co.uk
Snugs snugs.com
Project Dance projectdance.org.uk
Bold & Brave www.youngsomerset.org.uk
The Prince's Trust www.princes-trust.org.uk
Institute of Promotional Marketing www.theipm.org.uk
Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport www.ciltuk.org.uk
Craft Council www.craftscouncil.org.uk
The National Association of Jewellers www.naj.co.uk
British Retail Consortium www.brc.org.uk
British Independent Retailers Association bira.co.uk
UK's eCommerce Association www.imrg.org
Confederation of British Industry www.cbi.org.uk
British Council www.britishcouncil.org

 

EARLY YEARS

Organisation Website
Careers in the NHS Speech and Language Therapist
Careers in the NHS Occupational Therapist
Tops Day Nursery www.topsdaynurseries.co.uk
Little Adventures Nursery littleadventuresnursery.com
Early Years careers progression materials from the DfE Early years careers progression materials from the DfE
DfE Career Pathway DfE career pathway map
Case Studies Case study videos
The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy www.csp.org.uk
British Association of Art Therapists www.baat.org
British Association of Play Therapists www.bapt.info
British Association of Social Workers www.basw.co.uk
Early Years Teacher nationalcareers.service.gov.uk
Playworker nationalcareers.service.gov.uk
Nursery Manager nationalcareers.service.gov.uk
Teaching Assistant nationalcareers.service.gov.uk
Child Minder request an information pack www.somerset.gov.uk/education-and-families/starting-a-childcare-business
Early Years Alliance www.eyalliance.org.uk
Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years www.pacey.org.uk
National Day Nurseries Association www.ndna.org.uk

 

CREATIVE

Organisation Website
EDF - Hinkley Point C Project Young HPC
Butlins Careers at Butlins
East Quay www.eastquaywatchet.co.uk

Somerset County Council Careers

www.somerset.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers/communications

Find your perfect role

discovercreative.careers
Theatre design www.theatredesign.org.uk
Arts Marketing Association www.a-m-a.co.uk
Association of Illustrators www.theaoi.com
Association of Photographers www.the-aop.org
Society of Garden Designers www.sgd.org.uk
Society of Wedding & Portrait Photographers www.swpp.co.uk
Chartered Institute of Public Relations www.cipr.co.uk
The Prince's Trust www.princes-trust.org.uk

 

CONSTRUCTION

Organisation Website
Willmott Dixon www.willmottdixon.co.uk
MIDAS www.midasgroup.co.uk
Young HPC | Hinkley Point C - EDF Energy www.edfenergy.com
Milestone Infrastructure www.mgsworkwithus.com
Train4All Construction Academy train4all.co.uk

Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists

ciat.org.uk

Chartered Institute of Building www.ciob.org
Somerset County Council Careers | Property www.somerset.gov.uk
Chartered Institute of Housing www.cih.org
National Association of Women in Construction www.nawic.co.uk
Royal Town Planning Association www.rtpi.org.uk
The Institute of Economic Development ied.co.uk
National Association of Estate Agents www.naea.co.uk

 

CATERING, HOSPITALITY AND TOURISM

Organisation Website
Butlins Careers at Butlins
East Quay www.eastquaywatchet.co.uk
Channel Adventure www.channeladventure.co.uk
Somerset Larder somersetlarder.co.uk

ABTA - The Travel Association formerly Association
of British Travel Agents

www.abta.com
Association of Independent Travel Operators

www.aito.com

Institute of Hospitality www.instituteofhospitality.org
Institute of Tourist Guiding www.itg.org.uk
Institute of Travel and Tourism www.itt.co.uk
UK Active www.ukactive.com

 

DIGITAL

Organisation Website
Industry Factsheet Click here to download
Orbital Media orbitalmedia.com
Somerset County Council Careers www.somerset.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers/ict-and-digital
BT www.bt.com/careers
Eloquent Technologies www.eloquent-technologies.com
Teapot Creative www.teapotcreative.co.uk
How to get into the games industry www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYQsA2sqw-E
Institute of Analyst and Programmers www.iap.org.uk
Institute of Information Security Professionals www.iisp.org
National Computing Centre www.nccgroup.com/uk
UK Web Design Association www.ukwda.org
Internet Advertising Bureau www.iabuk.com

 

ENVIRONMENT, PLANTS & ANIMALS

Organisation Website
Industry Factsheet Click here to download
Somerset County Council Careers www.somerset.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers
Royal Meteorological Society rmets.org
Kimber's Farm www.kimbersfarmshop.co.uk
Wessex Water www.wessexwater.co.uk/careers/early-careers
Geckoella www.geckoella.co.uk
Arboriculture Association www.trees.org.uk
British Veterinary Association www.bva.co.uk
Chartered Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management cieem.net
Chartered Institute of Waste Management www.ciwm.co.uk
Chartered Institute of Water and Environmental Management www.ciwem.org
Institute of Chartered Foresters www.charteredforesters.org
Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining www.iom3.org
Institute of Quarrying www.quarrying.org
Royal Agricultural Society of England www.rase.org.uk

 

ENGINEERING AND MANUFACTURING

Organisation Website
Industry Factsheet Click here to download
Thales www.thalesgroup.com/en/uk-career
Atkins www.atkinsglobal.com/careers
Two Rivers Paper www.tworiverspaper.com
Ariel Motor www.arielmotor.co.uk
M-CNC www.m-cnc.co.uk
Shearwell Data www.shearwell.co.uk
Taunton Fabrications www.tauntonfab.co.uk
Heritage Craft Association heritagecrafts.org.uk
Formula Student www.imeche.org/events/formula-student
Institute of Mechanical Engineers www.imeche.org
Institute of Motor Industry tide.theimi.org.uk
Chartered Institute of Plumbing and Heating Engineers www.ciphe.org.uk
Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors www.cices.org
Institute of Acoustics www.ioa.org.uk
Institution of Structural Engineers www.istructe.org
Royal Aeronautical Society www.aerosociety.com
Professional Lighting and Sound Association www.plasa.org
Institution of Engineering and Technology www.theiet.org
Welding Institute www.twi-global.com
Royal Academy of Engineering www.raeng.org.uk
Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology www.imarest.org

 

HEALTH AND WELLBEING

Organisation Website

Bridgwater United Community Sports Trust

www.bridgwaterunitedcst.com
Careers in Pharmacy www.careersinpharmacy.uk
National Health Service www.healthcareers.nhs.uk
Somerset Activity and Sports Partnership www.sasp.co.uk
South West Pathology Services www.humanmedicine.synlab.co.uk
Somerset County Council - Social Care www.somerset.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers/
Somerset County Council - Health and Wellbeing www.somerset.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers/
Step into the NHS www.stepintothenhs.nhs.uk
Studying Healthcare

www.studyinghealthcare.ac.uk

Industry Factsheet Click here to download 

 

COURSE INFORMATION

Organisation Resource
Bridgwater and Taunton College School Leavers Prospectus
Richard Huish College Prospectus
Somerset Skills and Learning www.sslcourses.co.uk
Strode College Prospectus for School Leavers
The Space Course Detail
Yeovil College Full Time Course Guide

Subscribe to receive information on careers activities in Somerset

Whether you are a parent, education provider or business, we can provide you 
with all the latest events, resources and information on careers related activities
in Somerset.